Forums are back in action! ×

Weakness, I abjure thee!

Hey all! - New recruit reporting for duty!

I wear quite a few different hats (figuratively speaking - in reality I only wear one; a black fedora. Geek cred, right?): I'm a biology undergraduate, a karate student/assistant teacher, an amateur cellist, and a few other (decidedly less illustrious) things too. Trouble is, I'm not doing a particularly good job at being any of them at the moment, nor have I for a while. For you see, ladies and gentlemen; I have a Problem. In much the same way as the Tin Man lacked a heart, I must confess a gigantic lack of self-discipline.

Now, Tolkien may well have been right when he wrote that "Not all who wander are lost", but I've been wandering long enough to work out that I while I'm nowhere near as lost as some, I'm moving in the Wrong Direction far too often. I have had opportunity after opportunity set before me, and I have wasted almost every one, through a lack of focus and discipline.

For instance, in recent times:

- I started running, and began to (very slowly) work towards a marathon, but gave up a month before the event, without properly thinking about it.

- I have started the "One Hundred Pushups" program five times over the past two years. Each time, I gave up shortly after hitting the 50-pushup mark.

- I have started blogging eight times. Each time I have crashed and burned within a month.

- I failed to build anything resembling a work ethic during high school, and I barely scraped in the marks for university entry. Now I'm in the science program of one of the best universities in the southern hemisphere, being taught by some absolutely brilliant people, and I'm (just) keeping up a credit average by cramming for quizzes the night before.

Sensing a theme yet?

I did, almost six months ago, but I have done nothing about it until now.

Q: Why?

A (all together now!): Because strider has no self-discipline!