Forums are back in action! ×

A Ranger who wants to lead the way

Greetings, all! I'm a longtime lurker and new member here at NF. I'm a soldier who has been in the Army for a few years now, but I've never quite attained my fitness goals I'm sad to say.

I was never an athlete before I joined the military. And the mandatory exercise (or physical training/PT as we like to call it) that we do each morning has a highly disproportionate focus on cardio. My endurance has improved greatly over the past few years, but being an ectomorph, I haven't been able to put on much muscle or attain the strength I really want. Sure, I can pass my PT Test just fine with above-average scores, but put me on a bench press and I'll shake and wobble and struggle.

I've started P90X (a great program btw, if you have the time for it) multiple times but never made it past week 5. Stresses, long hours and yes, sad excuses prevented me from finishing it. I would try to make time to get into one of the many on-post gyms, whether during my lunch hour or after work. I flip flopped from various programs, when I should have just kept it simple: big compound movements to build base strength, none of that leg day/arm day/shoulder day isolation crap. Sadly, gym time often fell by the wayside in the wake of the excuses I mentioned before. Or sometimes I just didn't want to go because I felt self conscious watching all the gorilla men effortlessly heft weights many times bigger than what I could. Pathetic, I know. :jaded:  Working out at home never seemed to work right for me. Too many distractions, and after a long day, I just wanted to turn off my brain and laze around with the Xbox.

I found NF sometime last year and really enjoyed reading it. However, I still made excuses instead of following its advice. But the time for excuses is long dead and gone.