Forums are back in action! ×

Ranger/Monk Training... commence!

Hi! I'm Kate. Nice to be here. I'm 22 years old. I'm from Canada. Winter is coming. Summer is shorter than in the Game of Thrones world, though. *sigh*

I can't say I'm new to the rebellion's ways. I joined a week or so ago, however I've already made substantial changes to my lifestyle. In January 2013 I was 5'4.5" and weighed 157lbs.

Now I am 5'4.5" and weigh 123lbs.

I'm already very much set in the ways of the Ranger (I even have a past in archery, and I'm not half bad). However I've always had an interest in the ways of the Monk (but cannot afford to train as one atm).

Weight loss is nice, but it's not the most exciting thing that has happened to me this year. In January I got sick of feeling exhausted at every moment of every day. I got sick of looking in the mirror and not being happy with what I saw there. I got sick of feeling completely out of control.

I discovered the Paleo Diet. Weight melted off, but I also felt a million times more alive. I already knew I had a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, but until this year had chosen to ignore it, since gluten free foods were so expensive, and didn't make me feel that much better anyway (I'm talking processed gluten free stuff like frozen pizzas and corn bread).

It wasn't until I cut out all grain that I felt a significant difference. I also cut out processed dairy, legumes, and refined sugar.

I ate strictly paleo for about 4 months.

Just that changed me entirely. I became happier, a million times more energetic, I started setting goals for myself... I became overall more alert, and I feel as though I think more clearly now.

Thinking is important to us nerds.

Ee-yup.

My relationships have improved, too.

Then after getting used to the whole new routine of actually cooking real food (and somehow still managing to make it to work on time), I added in exercise. That's when the rest of the weight came off.