Forums are back in action! ×

Do. Or do not. There is no [more] try.

Hey everyone, I'm Matt and I am new to Nerd Fitness. I know that it isn't really important who I was and the mistakes I've made as it relates to my fitness and diet, but I feel that the reason I've decided to make a life change is related to those events. In high school I was a two-sport athlete and did marching band in the fall so fitness and weight were never an issue no matter what I ate (although I am sure I did some terrible damage to my body with my eating habits). In college the lack of exercise caught up with me and I ballooned over 200 pounds. On my 5' 7" frame this was a lot of weight to carry and my health was taking some serious damage. And without Remedies, X-Potions, or another panacea I was going to be in more trouble than even a Phoenix Down could fix. 

After meeting my future wife (a nurse) I followed better eating habits and exercised pretty regularly, getting all the way down to 160 and under 20 percent body fat. But I never stuck with it and have put back on about 20 pounds. I would try to exercise and try to eat right, but I always relapsed into the old bad habits. 

The revelation came two weeks ago. I was out of breath climbing two flights of stairs and ate a horrible dinner at BW3s in the same day and asked myself why I was doing this. It was time to stop trying, so I channeled my inner Yoda and got to work. I took a picture on day one without a shirt and will continue to do so every month. I am starting a mini-blog on my Facebook account to hold myself accountable. And I will only weigh myself at the beginning of every week, focusing on fitness instead of a number. Being so incredibly out of shape doing the first weight training on Rebel Fitness (with an 8 pound weight) and cardio today about killed me, but a little soreness in the muscles I can live with as the results are that much sweeter.

My short-term goals are the following: