Forums are back in action! ×

Hello All,

I'm Cage433 (Kudos to those who get the music nerd reference). I'm a 24 year old professional AV Nerd, and I have decided that it is time to take control of my life. I am a Gnome Artificer, but have decided to train as a Druid. I am not new to following nerd fitness but after a few years of complete chaos in my life I took a moment and realized, I'm out of shape, over stressed, don't understand the meaning of work/life balance, and I have a lot of things to work on.

Fitness-wise I used to be super fit and because things happen it all fell apart. I was a competitive gymnast with a barely an ounce of body fat in the gym 12 hours a week, could walk across a gym floor on my hands and back 3 to 4 times without touching the ground, could do splits with both legs on floor beams and had a 6 pack -- all at the age of 9/10. That much work lead to poor eating habits because I was working so much and growing with no consequences. Then tragedy struck and I developed Sever's Disease, fractured my growth plate and was told "NO IMPACT AT ALL OR YOU WILL PERMANENTLY DESTROY YOUR FOOT" and was not allowed to run for 4 years. After that I went to swimming where I became a BEAST (read distance swimmer). I loved seeing how long I could keep going and would do more in a warm up than the rest of the group did in an entire practice. I was also a flyer.

Life got in the way, swimming stopped when there was no team for me to be with and college took over my life. I work a highly active job, I put the 10,000 steps a day to shame, push carts that weigh 200/300lbs+, lift and carry gear that weighs up to 80 lbs frequently, and spend a lot of time crouching on the floor and can work up to 70 hours a week. I have decided that the perfect supplement physically and mentally will be a balance of yoga and meditation in my brief amounts of free time. I want to be a Druid to regain the life balance that I lost.