Forums are back in action! ×

Broken Bostonian attemping to refill life meter

In the first email from NF, we are asked what are we struggling with RIGHT NOW. This is my story.

Three months ago I was hitting it HARD. Rocking the paleo/keto diet, Couch to 5K Running program, and StrongLifts 5x5. I was lifting heavy, eating awesome, and Oh! I started playing rugby again.

Two months ago, I messed up some ligaments in my ankle at practice, but kept playing that week. In that weeks game, I got blindsided by a dirty tackle, the direct impact of which happened on the outside of my right knee. The result? Fractured tibia and 3 sprained ligaments. Can't play for the rest of the summer.

Five weeks ago, I began getting intense pain in my lower back, coupled with radiating pain down my right leg. Diagnoses? Severely herniated disk that was compressing a nerve root. Four weeks ago today, I had invasive back surgery to shave down part of my spine, remove the herniated part of the disk, and decompress the nerve root. Then, the incision got infected. 

Oh, and did I mention I have severe inflammatory and degenerative arthritis? Which is what cause the herniation in the first place. Apparently my spine is riddled with arthritis, and too unstable to support me playing sports ever again. I'm 28, and I've been an athlete my entire life. Now I'm facing a lifetime of surgeries that are normally reserved for those aged 60 and over. 

So what am I struggling with? Three months straight of injury, I'm recovering from a very invasive spinal surgery, and I'm never going to play competitive sports again, something that has been a huge part of my identity for as long as I can remember.