Forums are back in action! ×

How to find balance?

Hi, I'm really new here! I've recently found it had to find a particular balance in my life, considering all I have to do. I'm a student, majoring in graphic design at my college. I work part time at an animal hospital, I try to work on as much personal art as I can in my spare time, I have a wonderful, beautiful boyfriend, and I'm trying to reach my fitness goals. I've always believed in having a particular balance of things in life, and not letting certain things overrun other things that might be important to me. The thing is, all of the things I listed are very important! How would any of you suggest giving everything an equal amount of attention without burning myself out completely?

I hear ya on trying to find balance.  I have a full time job, I'm going to school full time (required to keep scholarship), and I have a spouse and kids.  Not to mention the reason for being here, losing weight and getting physically fit.  Some days all I hear in the back of my mind is "imminent head asplosion, warning!"

However, it is doable.  You just have to have a schedule and be firm about sticking with it.  I also keep reminding myself that university isn't forever.  It's a small chunk of my life to devote to what I want to specialize in so the uncomfortable time now will be worth it in the end.  As for the SO, having been with someone for a long time, they tend to be a whole lot less needy than a boyfriend.  Or it's just a whole lot easier to tell them to bugger off, I need to take care of business.  I think my advice in this area is harsh so I'll leave it for someone else with a warmer solution to chime in.