Forums are back in action! ×

I've been lurking around NerdFitness for awhile and figured now is as good a time as any to introduce my virtual self.

To say I'm completely new to fitness would be an outright lie - in fact, in my younger years, I played a number of different sports with varying degrees of success. However, I wouldn't say I was necessarily "fitness-proficient" - I would show up to practices, games, tournaments, etc. and play. At that time, I was able to pretty much eat/drink anything and everything because I was insanely active (sometimes leaving 3 hour lacrosse practices to play 2 hour hockey games) without having to spend time in a gym, on a track, etc.

"So where's the 'nerd' part fit in, lax bro?" you may be asking yourself, realizing you don't want to be judgmental but finding it hard not to picture a dudebro with flowing locks and a lax penny. Well, I was (and still am) a huge nerd - music (listening, playing, attending), video games, chosen profession, self-proclaimed beer nerd (since I turned 21...kinda) - it's all there, it was just hiding behind the jock archetype with the flowing locks (though I wasn't much of a dudebro).

Sports did, however, burn me the hell out to the point of not wanting to be involved in any sport when I showed up to college. What I did continue in college was my eating/drinking habits and my love of music, video games, and beer without coupling that with the physical activity I and my body were so used to.