Forums are back in action! ×

Time to stop the lurking...

So I've been in an on again off again relationship with this site.  I’ve been on it a lot recently so I figured I would post and stop being creepy.

My story is not terribly exciting.  I’m 6’2†~200lbs and I’m currently a network engineer in the military which means I spend a lot of time sitting in front of a computer screen.

I’ve always had a ton of hobbies, my current ones include gaming (mostly PC as I have a love/hate relationship with consoles), zymurgy, and woodworking.  I play music but I have yet to paid in anything except shitty beer. 

I played some sports badly back in school but I was never in good shape.  During college I got into lifting and quickly fell victim to broscience as is want to happen.

After a couple of years of lifting, I realized that I had almost no functional strength. I could get on a bench and push up weight but I couldn’t get on a pull-up bar and do five pull-ups. Not only that I found going to the gym was no longer an enjoyable experience.

I’ve found that I really enjoy bodyweight work so I really want to focus on that with some occasional free weights thrown in.

I find myself getting bored easily, and this site really seems like it could keep things interesting (Especially if Rising Heroes turns out to be as awesome as I expect it’s going to be).

I think there is something intuitive about the joining of nerdom and fitness.  The whole “life as an RPG†system really seems to work, especially with gamers.

tl;dr: Creepin’. I’m a person.  I like to do things.  Broscience is not science.  I suck at lifting myself but it seems fun.  Rising Heroes.  Gamification.