Forums are back in action! ×

Leveling up

Hey there everyone!

I'm pretty new to NF and only heard about it recently, so I haven't even been lurking very long. A little about me:

I'm 24, 6'2", 206 lbs, only a few years out of college working a 9-6 job in a research lab. About 12 years ago I was diagnosed with Type I diabetes, and was always a super skinny kid. After that, I started getting into long and short-distance running as a way to keep myself in shape and control my blood sugar. Later on in high school I added weight lifting and strength training and was in great shape and strength.

Once college started, I fell out of my good habits. Eating was pretty much lots of carbs, chocolate, fried food, etc. and working out became a hassle. 6 years later I tell myself I'm not in bad shape, but the fact is I'm not where I want to be.

I've been staying up late, wake up just in time to run out the door for work without breakfast, buy whatever the work cafeteria has, eat tons of brownies and drink about 2 liters of diet soda every day (sometimes an actual 2 liter when I order a large papa john's pizza). I only sometimes test my blood sugar levels and my last HbA1c was about 9.3, which equals out to roughly 220 (normal range is 80-120).

At this point, I decided I didn't like the way I was living my life. A little over a month ago, I started weening myself off of soda, and have now been 3 weeks without, instead drinking water and tea. The reduction in caffeine also led to me getting much better sleep (who'd have thought?). At that same time I decided to start cooking for myself in order to save money during lunch, and working on healthier food: more veggies, actually having three meals instead of just one massive meal and a bunch of unhealthy snacking before bed.