Forums are back in action! ×

Less "resurrection," more "I wasn't ever really here the first time"

Hi! I'm icfasntw. I live in lovely Wisconsin, I'm a technical writer by trade, and if you imply you can beat me at Mario Kart 64 I will haul DK out here to whip you back in line.

I participated (halfheartedly... *sheepish*) in the Ultimate Challenge of Awesome in April/May 2011. Unfortunately, I fell off the wagon at the end due to a move and having an incredible amount of work piled on my head. I'm now moved in (until August, when I move again) and the work is done, so I'm looking to hop back on the wagon. :D

I wasn't an active kid -- I'd still rather read than play most sports -- and I definitely didn't eat well. When I got to college I started WeightWatchers with some friends and lost about 25 pounds, but found it hard to maintain the level of eating/aerobic working out that WeightWatchers required. When I moved to WI a year ago, I started looking for something different. I found the paleo community, and stumbled across Nerd Fitness.

Since then, I've learned:

• That I can get along just fine without grains, thanks.
  • That Vibram FiveFingers feel awesome during your run, but hurt like hell the next day if you aren't used to them.
  • That traveling under my own power is super liberating.
  • That grass-fed beef is super delicious and hella expensive.
  • That coconut oil is only "solid at room temperature" if your "room temperature" includes AC.

The next question: where do I want to go?

• Right now, I'm a bodyweight workout rat. I'd like to turn myself into a gym workout rat. I'd like to start with a personal trainer because I'm afraid of hurting myself, so I'm going to save up some money and join a gym this November.
  • Food-wise, I'd like to get to 85/15 paleo.