Forums are back in action! ×

Get up, you're not done yet

I am a Nerd at heart (defined as "an unstylish, unattractive, or socially inept person") and I am perfectly fine with it.

Yet, I realized at some point in my life that I was using "being nerd" as an excuse for "being lazy".

You can be stylish and be unstylish, just have your own style.

You can be unattractive but really, who cares? If you're lucky in your life you need just ONE person to like you.

Being socially inept is actually what's giving me most problems, but crying over how sad it is being alone doesn't help to get used to people anyway.

Long story short, I am a normal person with a lot of shortcomings, some coming from family issues, others from education, others from natural selection.

Yet, one day I lost something important to me because I was weak and decided I would've never let that happen again, using the motto I wrote as a title I started practicing sports, looking at something I WANTED to do and why I couldn't do that.

I realized the country I was living in wasn't good enough for how I wanted to live (working 12 hours a day is NOT a nice way to live).

I realized the friends I had were not people I could count on.

I realized my family was not interested in me as much as they were interested in how they could use me.

I opened my eyes to a lot of things and decided it was time to do something and make a change, even if I didn't knew if it would've been for better or worst.

I moved abroad with a bit of savings, a bit of hope and a reforged will to live, also to make up for the person I had lost.

It went unexpectedly well I have to say.

I used to train even before moving, but after, with all that free time, I decided to try and see where I could get my body at.

I started practicing climbing, martial arts, fencing and I got into some very intensive cardio sessions.

At first I couldn't run 3km without passing out and doing 10 push ups was a far away goal.