Forums are back in action! ×

Becoming a Better Man

Salut!

I'm a soldier of fortune, marching through this crazy world on a quest to become a better man. 

Where I came from: I've always been a big guy. My Dad is 6'5" tall and my mom is 5'9". My Dad was really skinny in the Air Force, but still had to go on a starvation diet just to squeak in under the 230 lb. weight limit for his height. I also had hereditary asthma, which discouraged me from getting enough exercise. Suffice it to say, I was also on the pudgy side. 

18 months ago (February 2012), I weighed 316 lbs. I could bench 240 lbs, but was really unhappy with the way I looked. I solidly wore 42 or 44 blue jeans, and my XL shirts were getting tight. I'd had a couple great seasons playing Left Tackle (supposedly, I was the best in our league), but I had a dream of playing Tight End (I've actually got pretty good hands), and with Senior year coming up, I knew that wasn't going to happen where I was. I ate a really unhealthy amount of junk food, and drank far too much Mountain Dew for my own good. I decided that I'd had enough, and that it was time for me to make a serious change in my life. I ended up writing a sort of manifesto, discussing what sort of person I was, and what sort of person I wanted to be. I tried my best to break it down into goals, and to set about not only losing weight, but becoming a better student, brother, friend, and man.