Forums are back in action! ×

Working Out with a Cough

Fellow Rebels,

I am currently in a bind where I had a cold for a few days - runny nose, severe cough, difficulty breathing, the works. Fortunately I have gotten past toe runny nose and the sense of impeding doom. Now here lyes the problem, I tend to keep the cough for several weeks, and this isn't a simple *cough cough* oh so wimpy, these are full blown, straight the gut, type coughs that are deep and sound painful (although they aren't).

Here lies the question, what do you all recommend for working out when one is:

1) In the middle of their illness? Should someone work out at their full routine? I feel like you shouldn't because it would be nice to have your full immune system fighting the illness and not splitting time between that and recovering your body - although I cannot say I am an expert on that. What do you think?

2) When one is no longer ill but still recovering, what are some good ideas for working out? Just suck it up and do your normal routine? Ways to take it slow? Wait until fully recovered?

3) Strong burly coughs that are agitated by working out because of the increase in breathing, heart rate, etc?

depends how I feel.  I often workout through a cold.  BUT if you work out in a communal space (like a gym) be mindful of other people and spreading your nastiness or even the perceived spread of your nasty.  Wipe equipment extra carefully and don't workout where you'll have coughing fits near the other people. 

All that being said, it depends how you feel.  If it's just down to a lingering cough but you are fine otherwise, do what feels good.  If you were running a fever, that would be different. 

It's one of those "listen to your body" things. 

I AM going the distance