Forums are back in action! ×

Finance Planning for Move and Grad School

After a lot of consideration, I have decided I want to further my education and become closer to my desired career with grad school. The two schools that I am currently considering are in Boston, MA and are several states away from where I currently live and work (Missouri.) I am studying for the GRE and feel confident about my skills as a writer. My biggest concern for this goal is: money and where it's going to come from.

As of current I am putting $100 dollars into savings a month to help me when I make the move. My goal is to start grad school Fall 2014 and am willing to go part time if I cannot get an assistantship.

I was hoping for advice from others who have moved states away, and how they were able to get their belongings to their destination without paying an arm and a leg.

Also looking for advice from current grad students on how to be financially stable building my way up to grad school without drowning in debt by the end of all of it.

Ninja Scout

LEVEL 1 Stats: STR 2 | DEX 3 | STA 4 | CON 1 | WIS 2 | CHA 3

What are you planning on studying?  Broadly speaking, the sciences tend to get tuition remission and a stipend (so they can always be in the lab doing research), while humanities seem to have a tighter reign on the same things.  That'll definitely influence how best to answer your question. :)

EDIT - Also, if you're planning on moving to Boston, it's ridiculously expensive out here.  So look at places to live to gauge how much you should tuck away for a nest egg.

RisenPhoenix, the Entish Aikidoka

Challenge: RisenPhoenix Turns to Ash

"The essence of koryu [...is] you offer your loyalty to something that you choose to regard as greater than yourself so that you will, someday, be able to offer service to something that truly is transcendent." ~ Ellis Amdur, Old School