Forums are back in action! ×

Got degree, got job, need to get healthy (long)

Here's where I am starting:

I made it over the deadzone in the "screw you millenials" economy we have going right now.

I got my Master's in mechanical engineering at the start of the year.  I have a pretty cool job now - I don't consider myself a rocket scientist, but it's pretty close and so that's what we tell people when they ask to save time, and I've been married for over seven years now, we have 2 dogs.

I got a pretty good hand genetically.  I'm 6'1.5ish, can basically eat what I want and not gain weight.

My wife and I play quite a bit of WoW.  We just transitioned from me being a master's student, got our own apartment, I've basically been working the last several years to get to the point where I have a degree, which ended up getting me the job.

Here's where things are off:

I reinforced some longstanding bad habits, especially in my last year of school, regarding sitting on the computer not doing anything for long periods of time.  My last semester I was working mostly full time and driving to and from class twice a week.  That's 30+ hours of work per week, ten+ hours of driving between the county I worked and lived in during the week and the county I attended school during the week and lived during the weekend, four hours of class, and masters-level engineering homework and studying.  It worked out to basically sixty hours a week of "work", ten at least of which I was taking my life into my hands on California's freeways.  I would often leave late at night to avoid traffic, get to the room I was renting, sleep for five hours and go into work the next day and try to be productive.  My free time was generally spent on WoW or random internet sites because I was tired otherwise.  Right now I've gotten it to the point where I need to be getting to bed at 10:30ish and am usually getting to bed at 11:30ish, which is an improvement from 1:00 or 2:00 AM.