Forums are back in action! ×

Journey to a new lifestyle! (Novel mode unlocked) :)

Newbie on deck! I have been reading the blogs and countless inspirational stories on here truly pumped!

I have been working in the IT field for the past 10 years and countless late nights on the job and being an avid gamer put me in a not so awesome spot fitness wise. That all changed for me about 4 months ago when I changed from the hustle and bustle of in-home IT support to now working from home doing remote support. I knew getting into it right away that I needed to make changes to my lifestyle or I would wake up one day with more than just a weight problem. The first and biggest change I made for myself was my diet. Where as in my past line of work it was start my day with a monster (I know terrible!) and maybe eat lunch on the go usually fast food and the same for dinner...

That faithful morning I stepped of the scale I was 247lbs. Fantastic (sarcasm) I thought to myself I need to change today! I am 28 and 6'1" not a healthy weight.

So onto the diet. Cut out all soda and energy drinks cold turkey. Picked up water. I drink black coffee, unsweet tea (black or green). Started eating breakfast after all it is the most important meal of the day :D. Started preparing my meals for the week. Did a ton of research. Got a good multi vitamin and omega 3 supplement. Lean pork chicken or fish for lunch and dinner. Apples, fiber bars, and almonds make up my daily snacks and a night time protien shake for after work out.

Oh wait I have to figure out work outs. Started a 5 day cardio regimine started walking 1 mile a day and have gotten up to 4 miles. Well that worked awesome for the first 3 months - 20 lbs down great but I can't do only cardio forever I needed to incorporate some weight training so to present day I am down to 218 doing a few days of weight training.