Forums are back in action! ×

Hey everyone,

I stumbled across this site about a month ago and started lurking, I'm really impressed with the content and community so I only procrastinated a month before posting.

A little about me: I just turned 36, former Army Medic, current EMT and most importantly a recovering alcoholic.  I've been struggling with it since I returned from my last deployment in 2005.  I'm currently in a pretty intensive outpatient treatment program that takes up a substantial amount of my time during the day, but includes some yoga a few times a week.

I was a competitive Martial Artist throughout my youth and into my 20's when I joined the Army.  Fitness for me was a way of life for as long as I can remember.  During the last 8 years, I basically traded off that lifestyle for one that involves sitting in front of my computer playing games, moderating a band forum, daily blackout drinking and smoking a pack a day.

Now that I'm sober, I have no will to continue that lifestyle.  I'm sitting down today and doing some goalsetting and writing out a workout schedule.  I'd love to participate in some of the challenges that you guys and gals do, but I'm not sure I'm up to it quite yet.  Plus I have no idea where to even start!  (I did a few things on my profile I read on another thread about making a character)

Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated!

Level 2 Assassin

STR-2         CON-2

DEX-2        WIS-2.75 

STA-1.5       CHA-2

"If at first you don't succeed, skydiving isn't for you."

Hey Caduceus - welcome :)

Happy Birthday belated if you just turned 36!

It sounds like you and fitness are by no means strangers (competitive martial arts?? phwoar! cool!) and it also sounds like you've done something very worthwhile with your life so far. Sorry to hear that things have may have been a little rough though recently - sometimes life kinda goes like this: \/\/\/\/\ But well done you for finding a dry path forwards! Time for a new chapter!