Forums are back in action! ×

I thought I might be the clever fox who would be the first to suggest that their initial act of courage would be posting on the forums. After reading a selection of introductions, it seems a good number of people are in the same boat, which is somewhat comforting, and suggests I'm in good company.

I'm a 40-year-old English professor whose deep love of geekery and long resisted desire to get in better shape met their perfect match in this site. My initial forays into the character generator put me pretty squarely in the troll camp with strong leanings toward working on the scout discipline, though ranger is intriguing as well. My great dream is to hike the Pacific Crest Trail in the next couple of years, and I've found that having that goal is the only thing so far in my life that has made me take exercise and health seriously.

I'm 6'2" and I've been sitting at around 260 pounds most of my life, and my deep love of hiking really brought into focus how not useful that is. After entering the world of ultralight backpacking, it was made plain that the most important piece of gear I could lighten would be myself. After a fairly strict diet early this year (undertaken with my wife to help her with some serious food issues linked to fibromyalgia), I dropped down to about 225, but have since gained back about ten pounds. I also took up more regular, serious walking and hiking, but sort of plateaued out.

This site speaks to my undying passion for the epic. All the embarrassing, dorky impulses I usually keep to myself in polite company were encouraged here, and I'm thrilled to begin the journey.

I've taken up the Rookie workout this week, and it's gone well so far. I'm looking forward to taking up the next six-week challenge and finding a guild to quest alongside.