Forums are back in action! ×

Jaz.

I'm a 23 year old, female, graphic designer born and bred in England.

I'm sure my story is not that different from others. I'm currently doing a Masters on top of working pretty much full time so time away from the computer is rare. I can't really blame that I've always been pretty inactive, but it's not helping.

I'm not overweight per say, out of shape would be a more accurate description. Something mentioned in Tony's (amazing) story got me thinking about why I'd want to change. I don't currently have a family of my own, but I'd like one one day. I need to look after myself first in order to be able to look after someone else.

What if someone grabbed me on the street? Would I stand a chance of fighting back? What if I had to set a good example with healthy eating? I really couldn't do that. I've eaten nearly a whole tray of cheesecake brownies this weekend alone. Not a habit I wish to pass on, nor a habit I wish to have myself! Life's so precious, I feel like I'm doing it some kind of disservice by not looking after myself properly.

I'll probably end up lurking a lot after this post, I'm building up to a change. We all know research is key! I've been reading the Nerd Fitness blog for a while now and enjoy the liveliness and nerdiness Steve communicates so well. I've no doubt the forum is full of people just as awesome and I look forward to reading your stories and eventually sharing my own!

I guess a couple of other things worth noting - I'm vegetarian so I know paleo isn't out of the question, but more of a challenge. I'm also recently single after four and a half years of not being so. This is scary, but has also helped to remind me how important it is to look after yourself as well as others.

Anyway, hi! I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I do have some nerdish ways and I work with the biggest bunch of geeks that have ever been.

~ Jaz

Welcome aboard jaz!.