Forums are back in action! ×

Oh yes, Mr. Steve, I am definitely IN...

...because reading NF makes me want to rush out and run laps around the block or find an entire brigade of ninjas to single-handedly thwart. *puffs out chest, best Brock Sampson voice* BRING IT ON!! :)

So why am I here? Because early last year, I developed a serious crush on the act of "just seeing if I can do this." It has become my whole life philosophy, boiled down into one sweetly simple idea. I've always been a string bean without any oomph behind my waify frame. When I graduated from university last year, I became the first person in my family to have a college degree. It felt so GOOD. I worked so hard and grew so much and then...accomplishment. Hmmm, that's a heady feeling. I wonder what else I can do?

So, last fall, I decided to expand my long-time personal yoga practice into a side business. I lived on an ashram in the northern California Sierra Nevada mountains for four weeks, studying and practicing asanas, meditation, and pranayama for 7,8,9 hours a day. I picked up a lot of discipline there and it only fueled my "I did it!" addictions. Not long after returning home, I started jogging and before I knew it, committed to running my first marathon (this October, GAH!). My fiance is a cyclist and I love to bike, so I'm already toying with the idea of signing up for a triathlon next spring.