Forums are back in action! ×

Another new Rebel...

I'm a writer, so you might fall asleep... :friendly_wink:

My name is Chris. I'm currently 23, 24 in January, and I've been overweight my whole life. In high school I went from overweight to obese...

Until about 2002, I didn't care. I had of course been bullied about being fat and I didn't like that at all, but I didn't care enough to make any changes. I hated sports, except frisbee (though I never pursued it), and P.E. was my mortal enemy. Late 2001 I joined a program called the Civil Air Patrol (The Auxiliary of the United States Air Force). It was a fun weekly meeting type thing where we dressed up in Air Force uniforms, practiced drill movements, had small "boot camps", and occasionally helped staff various airshows.

I was hooked. But I never went very far in the program. I was promoted once, from a "Cadet Basic", to a "Cadet Airmen". This promotion only required knowledge and testing. NOT physical testing. All subsequent ranks required passing a physical training test. I heard it all the time, "Exercising once a month with us is not enough..." I paid attention to it, but I never implemented any exercise in my life beyond the bare minimum required at school P.E.

It strikes me as... depressing?... that my P.E. Teachers in middle school didn't want us to push harder. I remember my mother actually asking my teacher in front of me to motivate me to work a little harder to get in shape in 8th grade. He never did... None of the teachers did any more than tell us what we were doing for the next few weeks. We'd get to the blacktop, run a quarter mile warm up at whatever pace we wanted (I ALWAYS walked), stretch a bit and then play whatever sport we had that week. The coaches didn't involve themselves beyond breaking up little fights. Otherwise they just stood in a group and talked with each other while we played...