Forums are back in action! ×

Language learning

I noticed that quite a few others out there are learning foreign languages. What are you learning? Why did you choose it? Any tips for people aspiring to learn that language?

As for me, I've been learning Japanese for the past several years. I never specifically wanted to learn it, but after I got a job here I figured I'd better learn as much as I could. I only really started taking it seriously about 5 years ago, as the first few years I was comfortable living in the expat bubble, and really had no reason to learn. I'm mostly self taught, so my speaking is terrible for the amount of time I've lived here, but I'm pretty comfortable with my reading and writing, vis-a-vis time to ability. At the outset I would have expected the opposite, but once I figured out how one's personality and desire to speak plays into learning a language it makes perfect sense. I'm a naturally quiet person and don't initiate conversation too often. Hence my poor speaking skills, and even poorer vocabulary. One of my goals for the next 6 week challenge will probably be related to speaking more often at work. 5 out of the 6 weeks of this challenge are on vacation, so doesn't make sense to do that for this one. Anyway...

The best advice I can give would be, aside from "use it as much as possible," would be to not worry about the kanji. I know when I first got started with Japanese the kanji intimidated the hell out of me. It put me off and that fear stunted my growth for a good year or two. But once I started learning it, it's really, really simple. Just takes elbow grease. If you learn 1 or 2 new kanji a week, it's very manageable and you'll see steady progress.

I learn japanese as well.

But my tip is: Relate what you learn with something you can remember.

Jesuschrist is the most wonderful and complex person as of date,anyone can learn from him- paraphrased from The Master of Emotion