Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a member of the Nerd Fitness Academy and getting a late start - I'm a professional procrastinator and I proved no different in this case.  I decided I'd hop on in over here, too, in the hopes of increasing my accountability and circle of new friends.   :nevreness:

My name is Bela, or you can just call me Beefcake.  I'm a 37 year old single mum with two kiddos - a 13 year old son and a 17 year old daughter.  I live in SE Tennessee, though am originally from Michigan and still cling to my Yankee status.   wink.png

I was pretty active growing up but always felt fat, due to a large bone structure on a 5'4'' frame and always being rather muscular.  As I had my daughter at 19, my weight slowly increased over the years.  I'd gain 5 pounds one year, 10 the next.  I eventually hit my all-time high of 307 pounds.  I ended up having gastric bypass, as I was a dead gal walking, literally.  I had high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, sleep apnea, IBS, arthritis in my knees, and other comorbidities.  

I averaged a loss of a pound a day during the first 90 days.  Lost 100 pounds by my fourth month post-op.  We were told to exercise every day, but my doctor erroneously told me I had a hernia and to not do any type of abdominal or core-strengthening exercises.  My belly was reluctant to let go of the fat, so exercise caused a lot of back strain.  Kind of damned either way. Eventually he said it didn't seem like a hernia anymore... 2 years post-op!  I wanted to strangle him, LOL.  

My lowest weight after the surgery was 157 pounds, but it wasn't a healthy state for me.  I wasn't eating much, I was hiking upwards of 10-15 miles a week and most of my calories were from lattes.  Stress came in (thanks, life!) and a few good things happened.  I started eating more again and focusing on bettering myself all around.