Forums are back in action! ×

Testosterone, Estrogen & weight lifting

OK here's a question for you all...

I know that in general a normal healthy female who lifts weights will not develop huge muscles like a bodybuilder due to less testosterone and more estrogen in her system.(Look at Spezzy for a classic example)

But what happens to a post menopausal woman who lifts?

There is low or no estrogen in that woman's bloodstream. What happens to her body when she starts or continues to lift heavy weights?

Oogie McGuire

Black Sheep Shepherdess

STR 4.25 | DEX 4.5 | STA 3.75 | CON 3 | WIS 4.75 | CHA 1

I'm by no means an expert and I may be completely off the mark but my understanding was that it was testosterone that was the important hormone when it came to bulking up. I wouldn't have thought that there is a high enough increase in testosterone in post-menopausal women to cause them to develop huge muscles. If I remember correctly the average male produces about 10 times as much testosterone as the average female.

my understanding was that it was testosterone that was the important hormone when it came to bulking up. I wouldn't have thought that there is a high enough increase in testosterone in post-menopausal women to cause them to develop huge muscles.

Makes sense but that's why I'm asking, is it the ratio of testosterone to estrogen or the absolute amount that matters? Post menopausal women will have about the same amount of testosterone as they ever had but basically no estrogen (yes I know I'm simplifying but that is more or less true)

Oogie McGuire

Black Sheep Shepherdess

STR 4.25 | DEX 4.5 | STA 3.75 | CON 3 | WIS 4.75 | CHA 1