Forums are back in action! ×

Cost of fitness?

Work provides me a gym and they take it right out of my paycheck so I don't even see it. My grocery bill has actually gone down since I started eating better. No more pizza delivery, cut back on the eating out during lunch and dinner has saved be quite a bit. Plus fresh fruit and veggies are cheaper than the processed foods I used to buy. Once I started to take this seriously I spent a lot less time playing video games or watching movies or tv, so the money that was spent for those has been offset by cheaper activites (going for a run is about the cheapest thing to do, but biking can add up quickly).

Even if I did spend more money, I just look at it as being way way way way way way cheaper than having a bypass at 40.

"Pull the bar like you're ripping the head off a god-damned lion" - Donny Shankle

This has always been something of a stumbling block for me as I'm a student. Equipment wise I've kept things cheap (about £50 on free weights) and I always keep an eye out for the cheapest offers on meat as that seems to be the most expensive bit.

Of course, my results haven't been fantastic in the past because I've never really kept to a plan before, but some more low budget advice would definitely be welcome with me.

One thing that worked for me (as a part time grad student) was to eat a week of consistent meals. If every week was relatively the same food wise I could budget better overall. The only downside now is that I need to eat more to see gains and I have to readjust my budget.

That's probably a better plan than just buying all the deals every week as I'll be able to stick to it more consistently. I'll just have to make sure I don't have a relapse to junk food come exam time like I did this year! Thanks :)