Forums are back in action! ×

Best Non-Contract Cellular Plans

I'd like to save some $ and get out from under my present mobile phone contract. I've read about several non-contract providers including Straight Talk, Virgin Mobile, Boost Mobile, Cricket Wireless and Metro PCS. I guess T-Mobile offers that service too.

What experience has anyone had with a monthly cellular plan (quality/reliability, ease of setup/switch, features, overall cost savings, etc.)? Thanks!

LEVEL 1 ADVENTURER

STR 2 | DEX 2 | STA 2 | CON 3 | WIS 3 | CHA 3

7%
7%
'][/progress]

I've been using Page Plus Cellular for about three months now, and have been happy with them.  They run off Verizon's network, and we were able to port our numbers and keep using our old Verizon phones without much trouble.  Quality and reliability have been good (same as Verizon).  The switch was not as smooth as it could have been, because I thought that I would get an alert after they finished porting my number, but I had to call and check up on it and then they instructed me on how to finish it out.  But that's a one-time thing, so I didn't think it was a huge deal.  Cost savings have been great - I think we're saving about $80 a month (2 smart phones) for practically the same service.

There are cheaper deals out there, but we wanted to keep using our phones, plus my husband sometimes travels for work and knows that the places he goes have good Verizon coverage.

We waited until the day after our contact ended, because the termination fee would have negated any savings.  Just look into that so that you know what you're dealing with.

I've got 3 phones for the family on T-Mobile. We get 1000 shared minutes, unlimited data (each phone is 2GB high speed data, then it throttles down) and unlimited texting all for a total of $106 (including taxes) per month. We bring our own phones to the plan (Yeah Google Nexus phones)