Forums are back in action! ×

I want to plan an epic summer...Ideas?

Hey guys, I am currently a sophomore studying in college in GA. I really wanna do something worth while but also epic this summer, since next year will most likely be devoted to an internship, hoping I get that lucky. Anyway my options so far include: work at my on campus job over the summer and stay on campus, stay in an apartment close to college and work two jobs, work with my uncle in a closely related profession but one I am not interested in for no pay, or possibly go on a road trip with my best friend/ girl friend. My job on campus is awesome and directly related to the field I hope to join, however the pay is lousy and living in either an apartment or on campus the best I can hope to do is break even.

Basically guys I am asking for your advice on if I should do what is expected and work a job for the experience or take my last summer and go traveling. I only have $500 that would have to handle the trip if I did decide to go. So if you suggest this please include places, or additional ideas to keep it cheap but still awesome. Thanks for the input.

Six Week Challenge 1

Drop two pants sizes

0%
0%

If you're only going to break even while sticking around and working, I strongly recommend getting a summer of life experience over a summer of work experience.  In 20 years, will you think fondly back on your campus job, or your summer long road-trip?  If I were in your position, I'd think about planning an extended camping roadtrip to visit as many national parks as you can hit.  There are some beautiful sights to see out there and going from campground to campground will stretch that $500 in a way that no hotel can.  Just my $0.02