Forums are back in action! ×

Sick and tired of being sick and tired

Alright, that's a bit of an exaggeration. Truth is, I don't get sick. I've got a killer immune system.

But I am tired an awful lot, and that's no fun.

I've actually been here before. I was signed up here on NerdFitness about a year and a half ago right before I graduated from college, and I was working out and eating good while unemployed until I started working and lost time to work out or be online. At that point, I was working in a warehouse chucking boxes 60-70 hours a week, and I was broke as a joke. But being physically active 10-18 hours a day, 6 days a week, meant that I could get away with eating mac n' franks or vending machine cheeseburgers (srsly) every day. I actually dropped down to 25lbs below the weight I graduated college at, and was not looking half bad.

After that, I started driving a desk full time, and while my income almost doubled, I was in sales, getting much less physical activity and a lot more mental stress. I ended up packing that 25lbs right back on.

Now, I've since gotten another new job, again with a significant pay bump, but I'm still working long hours (not quite the 60-70 consistently, but 50-55 is standard), and I've got a major over-commitment issue that's now seeing me devote 15-20 hours a week outside of work investing in my community (something I'm not keen to give up on, but am looking to dial back).

So here I sit, bigger than I've ever been (and not in the way rappers talk about it, like getting famous), and looking to...well, stop. And shrink. And get healthy.

There's also a little lady sort of involved in all of this (what great adventure would be complete without romance?). She's crazy about me just as I am, but she's big into fitness, and I want to be able to keep up. If you'd seen her in running shorts, you'd understand.