Forums are back in action! ×

Tired of the roller coaster

Hello all!

I'm new to the rebellion but certainly not new to trying to get fit and healthy. When I find motivation to start losing weight and exercising, I never seem to have a problem. I go strong for months at a time, losing anywhere from 20 to 50 pounds, but then something always happens... My sneaky little saboteur peeks his little head in and before I know it, I'm back to where I was before I started... and then some. (Sound familiar?)

I've recently come off another roller coaster ride... I joined a women's gym with circuit strength training and was following their plan as well. I was doing awesome and in the first 11 weeks, lost just under 20 pounds. However, from week 12 through now (week 21) I have consistently gained every single week (only 3 pounds from where I started now). I know exactly what I'm doing wrong - not eating right (yet not putting the fork down or making better decisions) and not being able to go to the gym because their hours don't work for my life right now (which means I should find a way to do it at home instead or find another gym, but haven't yet due to numerous back/shoulder/foot injuries). It's not that I don't like being active - I actually love being active... I just keep hurting myself in the process. : ( 

I know these are all excuses - legitimate issues (as far as working out, anyway), but excuses nonetheless. My problem is... I don't know where/how to start!

I'm glad I found this site - it's definitely given me that initial spark of motivation, but now I have to figure out how to get started again. It usually takes me a while before I'm able to hop on that roller coaster again once I finish a go at it, but that's the thing - I don't WANT to be on another roller coaster ride! I'm looking to make a permanent change that I can live with... not just "deal" with (just like everyone else here, I'm sure). : )