Forums are back in action! ×

Noob who's interested in Crossfit, but a little intimidated...

Hi there,

First off, I'm so excited to join this group! I'm pretty psyched to have found this fitness community; I'm new to Nerd Fitness in general. I signed up for the periodic e-mails, but just noticed that this community existed. And by the posts that I've read so far, there's tons of support and positive folks within this group. 

I do have a fitness journey story, but I'll try my best to keep it short. Let's see... joined an at work Biggest Loser's challenge ------> did Insanity for 60 days and lost 60 pounds -------> won the challenge, but kept up with Shaun T's craziness -------> lost more weight and stopped weighing in... just stuck to working out 6 days a week -------> changed entire diet; no processed crap, no dairy, no chicken, pork, or beef, and feeling great -------> quit job in private sector and now works at a gym that hosts Crossfit classes. 

This has all gone down within a 2 year period. I love my new job, and though I have taken a couple of Crossfit classes here, I'm a little creeped out by some of the WODs. They are posted on the gym's site the night before, so I have this terrible habit of checking to see if I can even attempt to get through a class! I'm hoping to get past this; I want to take at least 2-3 classes a week. 

I do still stick with working out 6 days a week (Beachbody video and spin fanatic here!), but Crossfit intrigues yet frightens me a bit. I feel that through joining this community, I'll find the support and motivation to just suck it up and take my butt to these classes. I welcome advice and look forward to being apart of the rebellion!  :panda:

This will actually be my first post here, so hurray for us newbies!