Forums are back in action! ×

Wish I could run as fast as I can ramble -- complete fitness/exercise newb!

Hey, everyone! I’m Nikky and I’m pretty…geeky? Anyway, I’m here because I read Spezzy’s story and it inspired me. There are just so many sites and information out there for guys and fitness, but hardly anything on girls…besides cardio; which I hate. I currently am an addict of foreign cultures and currently I’m really into Korean things. I speak Japanese and I studied abroad in Sweden and Germany. Being abroad is where I realized, truly, how unhealthy American food is. The portions can be just as big abroad, but the quality of the food is just less processed and better overall.

I am 5’6½†and 195 lbs currently and this is where I was in the Summer of 2008. I studied abroad in Uppsala, Sweden for a year 2008-2009 and the weight virtually melted off of me (walked 35 minutes to class there and back, didn’t eat too much). I made it down to 155 lbs and I looked pretty great, albeit super weak. I didn’t intentionally lose the weight and I didn’t eat healthy by any means. Recently I asked my old corridormates what I used to eat and they told me: Chicken Quesadillas and Mackrel & Tomato sauce sandwiches (they are delicious!). However, I clearly wasn’t eating enough. So that, plus Sweden’s healthier than American food…the weight came off. But with that, I also started losing my hair, which was pretty thick (No, I don’t have bald patches or anything, rofl. My hair was just noticeably thinner and it’s just now starting to get thick again with all those little hair things bouncing out here and there). So, yes. I was skinny and I had 0 muscle.