Forums are back in action! ×

Right, so I discovered Nerd Fitness thanks to one of the paleo people I follow on Twitter - posted a link to one guy's success story, which contained a link to the ever-amazing Staci (my new powerlifting superhero), and holy golly goodness me that is inspirational.

I am a 28-year-old female university student from Canada, and paranoia prevents me from being more specific than that :P I'm studying theoretical physics, hopefully that is a decent nerd qualifier. I'm fairly into science and a little bit of math too (I actually find my math homework fun).

Always been fascinated by bodybuilders and transformationists, but been unsuccessful sticking to any program/diet for longer than a few weeks. THIS SUMMER THOUGH, I have stuck to exercise 3-6x/week for 14 weeks now (yes I am counting!) and I started tracking calories everyday for the last 2 weeks. Why am I tracking calories? Because I've been following a paleo/primal diet for the better part of the last 4-5 years and had ZERO weight loss.

So, right, GOAL ONE: fat loss. I'm 5'6'' (168cm), 140lbs. (about 64kg?). I don't know what my body fat % is for real, only what my at-home self-testing calipers tell me, and that's 32.25%. I'm going to get down to 18% body fat, it might take me 6 months but damn I am doing it.

I've been averaging between 1400-1600 calories per day (some days btwn 1200-1300 and one day I did an intentional "splurge" and amassed 2600). For the first 8 days of my new "diet", I shed 3.5lbs! But in the 7 days since that time, I have shed ZERO lbs! Sigh. I really don't want to cut my calories below 1400 for most days, because at 1400 I feel like I'm just managing to be satisfied all day. (Prior to tracking I was eating a lot more fat and less carbs, and maintaining/slowly gaining.)