Forums are back in action! ×

One step at a time

Wow. Since discovering this site on Tuesday, my work productivity has decreased significantly. Fortunately I'm between deadlines at the moment!

My name is Glynis. I'm a 25-year-old writer and recovering high-school gym class attendee, where years of physical incompetence and a surplus of assholes made me believe I would never accomplish anything, fitness-wise. My therapy? Running, which I didn't take up until I was 23 in November 2009, and was just wanting to be sociable in my new job (my coworkers invited me to the gym, I tagged along and hit the treadmill). Eventually I needed a goal; in my 10-ish months of training, I went from a bottom-of-the-barrel fitness level to losing nearly 30 lbs and running my first half-marathon last September with a time of 1:49:18. Running has been a major boost to my self-efficacy.

I also do some weight training but am pretty scrawny (5'6'' and about 118lbs—and only this much because I just got back from a food-filled vacation :D) I like what I've read here thus far about strength training and hope to implement some of the tips I've read here. My diet could use some work—there's a lot of fruits and vegetables and not a whole lot of proteins and healthy fats. I'm intrigued by what I've read about the Paleo Diet...when I first heard about it, I dismissed it as fanatical ramblings, but I'd be interested in trying a modified version of my own (the hardcore paleos will be prying my oatmeal from my bony fingers!).

That's me (or my fitness side, anyway) in a nutshell—and now, it's off to the gym for some strength training, where I resolve to use heavier weights than usual!

Welcome aboard Glynis!

Already beat you on the hardcore mode, since I eat oatmeal despite being paleo.

By the way, this is quite insightful about paleo eating(calories don't matter):http://nerdfitness.com/community/showthread.php?3507-Perspective-flipping-into-Paleo-mode