Forums are back in action! ×

What does the scouter say about his power level?

its. ITS! eh, a couple hundred at best...

Hey everyone, just wanted to introduce myself. I've been browsing around this site for a couple weeks and decided its time to become more of an active member. lol

I'm a 2d/3d animator in Dallas, TX For the past 9 months I've been doing the Spartacus workout I found from Men's health.com without getting the results Ive really wanted. I've put on some muscle but not lost any of the weight I set out to. Actually Ive put on a few...

So here I am to hopefully jumpstart my fat-loss goal! I'd like to cut my BMI in half in the next 6 months. Right now I weigh about 200lbs and my BMI is at 30% according to some online calculator. So if my math is right, I need to lose 30 pounds. Also, I'd like to be able to do 10 pull ups! :D

For the past couple weeks Ive been easing myself into the paleo diet. I've already lost a few pounds, but i think its still too early to know if its from my body freaking out, "Where the hell is all my pasta!?"

Anyone else out there following the paleo diet? What was your experience when you made the transition?

Calm the spirit,

sharpen the mind,

make savage the body.

Hello and welcome! For starters, lets clear up a few things.

1) BMI isn't a very good way to track health and progress. Here is some information on it's various shortcomings. A much better solution is to use body fat percentage. This brings me to my next point.

2) Don't use pounds as your only factor. Like you've mentioned you've seemingly gained weight not lost it. Go pick up a scale for 30 or 40 bucks at Walmart that does body fat percentages. Everyone knows the old adage "muscle weighs more than fat" right? So don't use the scale as a guide to weight loss. You're looking to change your body composition, i.e. more muscle less fat, rather than what you weigh.