Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings, Melissa here -- I'm ready to start leveling up!

Hi everyone! My name is Melissa and I've been reading Nerd Fitness articles for a few weeks now. I'm used to working solo, but reading over the forums and seeing how lovely and helpful everyone is makes me want to be part of this community.

Rule #1 of the Rebellion states that one's past isn't important; it's what one does in the present to fix his or her problems that matters. So I'll try to keep my back story short. Throughout my childhood and high school years, I was a super-skinny, tomboyish bookworm. Soon after I graduated high school and got married, though, I suffered my first bout of major depression. I gained over 40 pounds in a few short years. I was never quite obese, but the extra weight contributed to some health issues, and my weight & inactivity no doubt helped feed my depression. It's been a struggle. I've had some good days, of course. And a few years ago I was able to manage my depression and anxiety enough to earn a bachelor's degree in literature at the ripe age of 27. But overall, I hate that I've wasted the last ten years of my life feeling gross about myself, avoiding getting close to other people because I worry they'll think I'm gross too, and generally not enjoying my life. 

Six weeks ago, I finally got fed up with not feeling comfortable in my own skin. I was at Walmart (I work second shift as a pizza delivery driver, and it's the only store open when I get out of work), and decided to use one of those blood pressure stations. Not only did I have prehypertension BP levels, I was also 10 pounds heavier than I expected, and the fattest I'd ever been without even realizing it. I was thoroughly disgusted with myself. This disgust was enough for me to overcome my inertia.