Forums are back in action! ×

...And now everything is the same but everything is different.

With a new challenge starting, I finally decided to come out of lurkerdom.   So, hello!  

A (not so quick) introduction: I'm a 30 year old female geek and my interest range from chemistry (which I have my PhD in) to comics of all sorts (which I sadly do not have a PhD in).  I started following the Nerd Fitness blog a few years ago and have been reading through the forums for a few months. The level up your life concept has always appealed to me, and when I recently started thinking about it in context of my own life, I was naturally drawn to my favorite video game series: The Legend of Zelda.  And as many of you may know, after beating several of the Zelda games, you have the option to go back and play it again with modifications.  That pretty much describes where I am now with regards to fitness.

For some background, I'm about to hit two major weight loss anniversaries.  On March 18th, it will be 4 years since I made my first active step towards changing my weight and health, when I joined Curves.  At the time I weighed 250 lbs.  And in April, it will be 2 years since I hit 150.  I've lost a little more since then, but mentally, that is when I defeated Ganon and won the game.  

Now, though, my goals are quite different than they were when I lost my first 100.  In the past 2 years I've been working on improving my fitness.  I've run a 10 k, danced the night away, and squatted 175 lbs, none of which I could imagine doing when I first hit 150, much less when I was at 250.  New goals, however, bring new challenges and in some ways I really do feel like I started over.  That's not necessarily a bad things, but it is something I that I'm dealing with.  There are so many new things to learn and a lot of baggage left to unpack.