Forums are back in action! ×

*test, is this thing on?*

Um, Hi.I just blundered across nerdfitness and I'm sad that it's my first time here, it seems like the natural habitat of someone like myself. Why, you may ask. I split my free time between two hobbies, board games and lifting. When push comes to shove, lifting wins but I feel a little empty inside when I have to make that exchange. So, you all sound like my kind of people.

Training-wise, I have a long-ish career. I started in highschool like lots of folks then fell off in the college years. I started again when I was about to get married and weighed 260, I was still 250 when I actually got married. I then got hooked on powerlifting and strong man and pushed up into the 270s but had the privledge to pull over a quarter ton and compete in some really cool strongman meets. Then tragedy struck (a little melodrama here) and I was sidelined for a couple years. 

I came back with a vengance about five years ago. This time I'm sporting some kettlebells. This year I expect to hit my weight goal of 85K in preparation for competing with kettlebells. I also dabble (truly just dabble) in crossfit. I've crosstrained for years but those guys are very specialized and I've not yet learned the skill set.

I look forward to participating in the roleplaying and challenges. I've got a few goals for myself for the year that I need to work into those and I've got a long google doc of random feats of strength that I'd like to do that could work well also. 

Please feel free to PM me, give me tips, suggestions, plans and guff as needed.I'm here because I'm constantly trying to find a supportive training community that occasionally surfaces from the testosterone long enough to push me harder.

• Like 3

You can't spell Slaughter without laughter

Welcome to NF.  Sounds like you have quite the background.