Forums are back in action! ×

Finally becoming an adult ^^

Hey Rebels! 

I am a 22 year old female, 143lbs and  5’1â€. I graduated from University last year, and Ive had a year off. My family is going through intense transitions with my dad going into surgery for a Liver transplant. My parents both have chronic dietary problems, they are not severely obese and they don’t have extremely unhealthy diets yet they have so many problems.

I realized that since high school I’ve never really had any fitness goals and architecture school was so stressful that I began accumulating bad habits. I’m at this huge transition where I’m ready to be an adult and take on responsibility.

Next fall I’ll be going to graduate school at Harvard, and while I’m extremely excited I’m also very worried that i’ll continue with bad lifestyle choices because of stress. 

I’ve been on the NerdFitness plan for about 3 weeks now, but I didn’t want to share my story until I was confident that I was going to stick to it. In this time I have lost about 5 lbs and I’ve been working out daily. My diet is Paleo-ish, I’m mainly bread and grain free but I’ve been having junk food related cravings recently so ill have a piece of chocolate or a bit of rice at lunch every couple of days.

I’m in a huge transition in my life and in the life of others around me . I’ve spent the last month at  a Mayo clinic town helping my dad recover from surgery, this means making all the meals for my family everyday (It has given me amazing practice on quick healthy meals!). From there I will travel to over 4 different countries this summer and I need to be strong and capable of keeping a good routine wherever I am. 

These are my goals: 

Avoid hereditary health problems and live longer.

Have better energy levels everyday so I can work for more hours without getting exhausted.

Be as beautiful on the outside as I think I am on the inside :P.

Give myself a solid foundation for life with good habits. 

I will: