Forums are back in action! ×

I am that young american you hear about

As the title of my post states pretty explicitly, I am the young american that you hear about. I am 30 years old, overweight and have type 2 diabetes because of the choices that led me to this point. 

I heard the war drums of the rebellion beating, though, and I took a hard look at myself in the mirror and some things started to change. I started going to the gym (currently doing Starting Strength LP), starting making smarter choices with my diet (Can't out train a shitty diet, right?) and trying to sleep more (That's funny though.. I'm a nurse, a husband and a father to a 4 year old). 

I came here because I just need more support and fellow rebels to discuss battle plans with. My goals are to lose weight (currently 208, would love to be sitting around 185-190 with a much different body composition) and to bring my blood chemistries back into the normal range so I can watch my son and future issue grow up and join the rebellion. However, even with the changes i've made I get discouraged because my goals are still looking pretty far away. 

Oh, just to verify my nerdery here is a quick run down: Star Wars fan since forever, love sci fi of all types, AD&D hold out (4e may as well be WoW&D), video game enthusiast, and it is a very rare day if I am not wearing at least one piece of comic book gear (my wife says that my tee shirt collection might be an addiction). 

In short, I would love to touch base with anyone who has run into any of these types of problems and conquered them. Also, I look forward to chatting with everyone here because it takes a village, right?

May the force be with you

Craig A, Murse of the Year

Nerd

Beard Enthusiast

Rebel

post-28256-0-97689800-1396448177_thumb.j

• Like 4

Craig A

Murse of The Year

Beard Enthusiast

Nerd

Rebel

Hi!

I'm partially in your boat, 34, 220, except I'm female...and not a nurse.

HOWEVER..

I do have some lovely unsolicited advice for you!