Forums are back in action! ×

Hello there!

I'm QuothTheDragon/QtD/Quothy/Dragon/Katie....I respond to almost anything related to my username at this point. I'm a 23 year old software engineer living on the East Coast of the US. I program robots for a living! (Not quite as glorious as it probably sounds, but still an awesome job). I have a crazy Shiba Inu named Chihiro (anyone get the reference?) who is keeping me more active than I used to be, but it's not enough. 

I found NerdFItness on a Google search a couple weeks ago and was intrigued by the premise. I finally decided to try out the community and all tonight. Everyone seems like an amazingly supportive bunch and I think that could really help me along (and I'd love to help others as well!). 

I've been overweight since I was six. For as far back as I can remember, I've felt like my body doesn't fit my mind. I have enough self-image issues to fill a book and my confidence level varies by day. It took me until I was 19 or 20 before I could even tell myself I thought I was pretty.

I currently let my weight hold me back in every aspect of my life. I want to learn to ride a motorcycle? I'm too big for that, so what's the point? I want to go to a rave with my friends? But what will I wear? Nothing looks good on my body. I want to ask my best friend on a date? But why would he like me? I'm just...me.

I'm done with that attitude.

I currently weigh ~229 lbs and am 5'6". This is down from 237.8 lbs at the start of the year. I love to run and just finished a 5K at a personal best time of 46:45.6. I really want to do a half-marathon by the end of the year. After reading Spezzy/Staci's story though, I realized that I want to get strong too. I never want to feel held back by my body, I want to feel empowered by it.

I'd like to aim for getting down to around 150 lbs, then evaluate where I want to go next.