Forums are back in action! ×

Hey! I've been poking around these forums for a bit, and figured it was time to join.

I am a 25 year old gal, play the banjo, and have a year-round sandal tan. Maybe more socially-awkward hippie than nerd, but I trust you folks can overlook this!

I was somewhat overweight as a kid, and as a teenager I gained a lot of weight. In May of last year I was at a highest weight of 232, at 5'6â€. From May to November I worked as a farm hand and lost about 20 pounds, and gained a ton of strength! I've kept the weight off, but my fitness level has definitely decreased.

I realized recently that I don't just want to lose weight. I also want to get really fit... to be an outdoor badass. Climb rocks and trees and hike and backpack and cycle and swim in rivers. I want to feel vital and healthy, and embrace life more fully.

It's super exciting! It's also... overwhelming. I feel strangely daunted. I'm not quite sure where to start. I feel like I need a simple plan of action in terms of fitness and nutrition. Any advice on taking these first steps is appreciated!

Anyway, I'm stoked to be here. You folks seem like a very sensible, kind, and helpful lot.

Hasta pronto!

• Like 1

Welcome, redwoodfog!  We are excited to have you here at NerdFitness.

It looks like your goals are to lose weight, gain functional strength, and spend time using your strength in the great outdoors!  A great starting place for you would be to do some form of strength training program (body weight workouts, weight lifting, etc) combined with some form of cardio (walking, biking, hiking, etc).  Both of these will help you lose fat and earn the strength and endurance necessary to be that outdoor badass!  You didn't mention anything about food, but many of us clean up our diets when we get started with our workouts.  The right fuel can help your body work at its highest level.