Forums are back in action! ×

New Recruit Reporting In

Hey guys, thought I would introduce myself. My girlfriend found this site and intro'd it to me a few days ago, and something clicked in a big way.

I've always been a huge nerd and was once upon a time a pretty serious athlete (rowing, water polo). I moved to the UK for college where I also found a part-time gig at a fancy booze shop and spent a lot of time acting in and directing stage shows (during which I picked up a nasty smokes habit, of course). Needless to say, fitness slipped to the wayside.

I graduated two years ago and picked up a job working for a tech startup that had me traveling 5 days a week, working 12 hour days if I was lucky. I managed to shake off the smoking during this time, but never got further than that. Last August, I was goofing around and stepped on my girlfriend's brother's skateboard, and promptly shattered my ankle. One year, two surgeries and a full round of PT later, I've been back on my feet for a few months (along with a gnarly scar and a new, less travel-heavy job). I'm still working stupid hours, but I've found something I really enjoy. The only thing missing is the fitness I prided myself on a long, long time ago.

When I was in college my dad, who had always been about 100 lbs overweight, took it upon himself to start a ketogenic diet that led to him shedding the extra pounds and eventually taking a job with the company that facilitated his nutritional success. Now he's killing it helping other people lose their extra weight, too. My girlfriend has always been fit, and she's always been a big advocate of eating clean and natural. She's been gently guiding me to get my act together. I've humored her, but only barely. A little cardio on an irregular schedule.

I've had the right influences around me, but only been giving renewed fitness a half-assed try.

Not anymore.