Forums are back in action! ×

New to the Community

Hello,

I've kept up with NF for the past few months - since probably June or so, however I have not come to join the community until now. I decided to come because I was looking for a support group in my own bettering of myself and thought I could lend a hand to other beginners and maybe a bit of knowledge as well. 

With that, I'll introduce myself and keep will probably keep it pretty short since I'm between classes currently. 

About Me: 
I'm Russell, and I go by this chosen online identity - lightNRG. I use this name for gaming and other online activities. I'm currently a second year biochemistry student as well, which outside of hopefully having a career in, fascinates me to no end.

I was inspired to begin working out and becoming healthier last summer - the summer after I graduated high school. I was relatively unhealthy, specifically overweight at this time. As most young adults do, I picked up a job working at a summer camp put on by the YMCA. I thought it would be fun and quickly learned that I also got a membership to the YMCA to use the facilities they offered. And so I did that - relatively unsure of myself at first. Not really venturing into the weight room, mostly running on a treadmill or elliptical, which got me almost nowhere. A few weeks in, a co-worker of mine saw me while working out and invited me into the weight room. He gave me some tips to further myself and actually apply myself to weight training. This was a good start and got me going - however the dreadful freshman year of college hit and I undid much (but not all thankfully) of my hard work over the summer.