Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, all. I'm Stephanie, and I came across NF a few months back, when I was reading up on the Paleo diet and beginner's workouts. I liked the articles I found on the site, and I kept coming back. It wasn't until now that I decided to join.

My (not-so) intriguing back story. When I graduated high school, I weighed 220 lbs. at around 5'4". It wasn't fun, especially when people made fun of me. But here's what happened: I started losing weight when I went to college, and I decided to keep it up. At my lightest, I was 135 lbs., but my calorie intake was so restrictive that I stopped feeling good at all. I won't get into the details, but it was a difficult time in my life. I became depressed, started eating, and went up to 160+ lbs. within a few months. Splat.  :onthego:

Right now, I'm 158 lbs., and I want to get down to 135 lbs. again. But, I want to do it in a way that is healthy, sustainable, and body-positive. That's why I came to NF; I thought you'd be able to help me on my journey.

I'm about to graduate from college (oh no, real world), and I want to feel good about myself as I enter my mid-twenties. So much of my time is spent making excuses and loathing my body, which isn't helpful to me at all. The flip-flop in weight also means that I'm not as toned as I'd like to be.

Here's where I am in terms of fitness: I can (mostly) survive interval running and yoga, but I can barely do five sit-ups without feeling like I'm about to die. My diet is all over the place, and I move between eating either one meal a day or ravaging anything in the fridge like a bear. Any suggestions or resources you can offer in terms of introducing gradual changes to my diet would be much appreciated.

Also, how does one "work out"? All I've ever done is run at the gym, but I feel like there's more to it than that. Tips for making work outs work with your schedule?

Help.