Forums are back in action! ×

Hello there!

My name is Jamie... and I am starting over.

My friend tipped me on to NF a month ago and I made the choice to make some positive changes in my life.  I started to revamp my diet, wake up earlier and I was considering trying to approach my problematic job in a new way.

Well, yesterday I was fired from said problematic job.  It was a blow.  It wasn;t completely unexpected, the job had greatly changed ever since new management took over the company about a year ago, and I had been consistently unhappy for months.  My job performance had suffered as a result, but the kick in the pants was that I was fired after the biggest upswing in performance I had in 10-12 months.

And so, I decided tonight that I need to keep myself motivated.  I need to move forward and see this termination as not a bad thing, but the thing that I needed to get me out of a bad situation.  I have some tough decisions to make.  I work in the entertainment industry and one of the reasons I kept a job that frustrated and drained me for so long was due to a general lack of such jobs in the area.  Now I'm debating between seeking a job farther away that is in my field, or seeking a job close by that is not in my field. 

I'm lucky.  I have a supportive fiancee, good health and a loving family.  Now I just need to find a job that encouranges me to shine rather than locks me in a concrete bunker forcing me to answer the phone all day.

I'm scared.  I'm scared that I won't stay motivated and I will not keep improving day by day.  But I have a massive support system and a will of iron to help me through. 

I want to be the beautiful, shining, optimistic person I used to be a dozen years ago when I used to teach martial arts to kids and work with people to make thier lives better.  I just need to figure out how to get back there and turn a decade of stumbling into a fruitful future.

PlainSimpleGarak - PSG - Level 0 Gnome Monk