Forums are back in action! ×

I've been here before...A reintroduction

Hello Friends,

A little over a year ago, I introduced myself to you all the first time.  However, I let life happen and it really de-railed my ability to be involved in an online community, hardly at all.

First about me:

I'm 29 (hit the dirty 30 next month). Male.  5'9" 187ish lbs.  I work as an engineer for an embedded systems company involved in aviation and defense.  I'm graduating with my BSE from Arizona State University in 2 weeks and I'm a member of the U.S. Army (Arizona National Guard). I'm married and have a half kid ( My German Shepherd, who for all intents and purposes is basically my child, for now...) I enjoyed doing functional training, until I injured myself last August when I royally screwed a Power Snatch in CrossFit. 

While I joined the community prior to my injury, I failed to complete my first challenge. Working full-time and being a full-time student, along with maintaining my marriage put a huge strain on my time management.  Healthy eating and exercise sadly were some of the first things to go, largely due to the time issue.

Now that the doc has cleared me, I'm really excited to get back into a routine, but I'm really hoping to establish some accountability prior to jumping back into the challenges here.  This also means I'm done with my excuses to why I can't work out.

My goals:

• Achieve and exceed pre-injury Army fitness standards (to eventually max the Fitness Test, I usually score a 220-230 out of 300)
  • I want to participate in a Triathalon (This has a whole laundry list of sub-goals)
  • Develop my physique, such that I'm ok with losing the shirt during runs.

I have the NF eBooks, from before the Academy.  I'm debating on using some of those routines to develop my plan.  I don't really have weights so most strength training will be body resistance.