Forums are back in action! ×

Help Me Survive the Zombie Apocalypse!

Hi!

I'm Holly, I live in the UK, I'm an author and mum of two small mischief making boys as well as lifelong, committed geek (fantasy and sci-fi, roleplaying, computer games <3 ).

My weight has yo-yoed ever since I was a teenager. Now I'm in my thirties and am finally sick to death of feeling run down and tired all the time. I want to eat right and be fit. I have always enjoyed running, don't shoot me, on a treadmill lol! Running outside freezes my lungs, burns my throat and generally hurts like hell. But I like to plug in some earphones and play sweet rock music and just zone out while I run and work up a good sweat. I've been doing interval training for the last few weeks. It's been hard work at times but I'm generally enjoying it. I don't always have regular childcare, so I struggle to stick to programmes that require me to leave the house and I have decided that I want to add strength training that I can do at home.

I came across Nerd Fitness while researching parkour for my latest novel and decided I really wanted to give it a try myself but I definitely need to improve my strength in order to do that. So I'm trying Dakao's strength training for parkour programme that I found on the NF blog. I basically fancy being capable of escaping the zombies when they come.

As for food, I am a little too partial to cakes, chocolate and chicken burgers. I've dipped in and out of paleo light for the last year plus (I say light because I've never attempted to remove all grains, just gluten-containing ones) but really struggled to make the change from such a high carb "western" diet. I don't generally eat dairy as my youngest has a dairy intolerance and is breastfed, so I cut it for his benefit. I'm not sure why I'm unable to make similar changes for myself - that's some expensive months in therapy right there I suspect ;)

So yeah, that's me in a nutshell.

Battle Log - Record from the Front Lines