Forums are back in action! ×

Started doing squats WITH WEIGHTS this morning!

Well, I've been doing body weight squats for two months now, got up to doing 5 sets of 14 reps and had been pondering on adding weights. Yeah, I'm sure I could've gone faster in getting to the weights, but who has two thumbs and has never done squats before in his life? This guy! Looking back, I might have been overly OCD about taking it slow, but I wanted to make sure I get the form down right. After re-reading Steve's article on Squats and seeing where he said that if you can do 3X12 full body weight squats, you should be strong enough to start adding weight.

Today, I started with 35.5 lbs (curl bar 5.5lbs & 30lbs iron weights)! In my warm up I did a set of Body weight squats, and in my cool down I did a set of BW squats as well.

As some of you probably know, Tuesday morning is known to me as 'Circuit 1', so I get up, and do squats, pull ups, dips and planks and then repeat 4 - 5 times. Still working towards full BW reps on the pulls.

This morning's routine:

Squats: 1X10 reps @ 35.5lbs, 1X9 @ 35.5lbs, 1X8 @ 35.5lbs, 1X10 @ 35.5lbs

PullUps: 4x4 (-15lbs taken off BW per resistance bands on my power tower)

Dips: 4X6 BW dips (woot!)

Planks 3x50 sec planks & 1x1min plank! (woot!)

Thursday's routine is Lunges, Chin Ups, Push Ups & Reverse Crunches & I will be using dumbells for the lunges, looking forward to that one! I believe total weight of the dumbells is 22lbs...? Will keep you posted.

Don't have alot of iron at home to add on, so I'm going to have to improvise sooner or later to keep increasing weight. Slow and steady will get me there!

"First, decide who you would be and then do what you must do." ~Epictetus