Forums are back in action! ×

Well, uh, hello, I guess?

Hi there. I am new to NerdFitness; I heard about it about a year ago but never dove in, so here I am now! 

My shortened version of my story:

Very athletic in high school (cross country runner, swimmer (backstroke and butterfly), tennis, and summer softball), so I ate and did whatever I wanted to my body, and once I hit college I continued the same lifestyle minus the sports....so I gained weight. And gained weight. And gained weight. And here I am, 12 years later and 80 pounds heavier, trying to get myself to lose the weight and be strong again. 

My problem is that I will stick to something for about 3 months and then quit. I don't know how to make myself go past that 3 month mark. I even got a job at the local YMCA last year hoping it would give me a reason to work out. Didn't work (and I don't even work there anymore). Another problem is that I have an hour commute to work each day, making 2 hours in my car every day, and by the time I get home it's pretty late. And I have no willpower over sweets. I'm actually eating a brownie at my desk right now (she said sheepishly).

I really don't care if I drop the full 80 pounds. I really don't care if I lose ANY weight, as long as I don't have so much body fat and I am strong and in shape. So I am hoping that this place, this welcoming place where you are expected to make mistakes and overcome them and don't already have to be super fit to join, will help. If there is any advice, please share. I need all the help I can get!